the dirty truth

a few posts ago i wrote about the picture-perfect homes featured in blogs i read – clutter-free, perfectly organized, decorated beautifully – and the inadequacy i feel when i look around my own home, even though i understand that the pretty blog homes are not always so spectacular in their natural state.  so, in protest of the presentation of feigned perfection, i am airing my dirty laundry…metaphorically speaking.  (fear not, i am not actually going to show you a picture of Laundry Mountain because no one needs to see my worn underpants and sweaty gym clothes.)

the most lived-in area of the home:  kitchen and family room

kitchen:  dishes in the sink.  piles of clutter. torrents of dust rolling across every surface. my kitchen is impossible to keep clean, and will never be photo-worthy in its natural state.

family room:  toys everywhere.  dust bunny revolution in full force.  kid on the couch watching “Yo Gabba Gabba,” still wearing pajamas at 2pm.

i’ll spare you the details of our bathrooms; toilets in need of scrubbing, spot-covered mirrors, tubs whose memories of their last deep-clean have long been forgotten.  and don’t get me started on laundry-related rants.  it’s a never-ending battle; trying to keep a clean home when there are two kiddos running around is an exercise in futility.  stay tuned…

3 Comments to “the dirty truth”

  1. For the record, I see exactly 3% of what you’ve pointed out.

  2. @Christine, it’s there…believe me. the bright light coming through the kitchen window sort of obscures the overflowing dirty dishes and the dust bunnies are really like dust ninjas so they’re quite stealthy and hard to capture in a photo, but they are there and they are numerous.

  3. I have those same 2 kids and that same house. Sometimes when I take pix for my blog and I notice the oatmeal caked on the table or the cluttery kitchen countertops, I try to do some last minute polishing and by then my kids have moved and I’ve lost what I’m trying to capture.
    I’ll get that pizza recipe to you very soon.

Leave a Reply

